Gov. Dunleavy names new Alaska transportation commissioner

A portrait photo of a man wearing a suit.
Ryan Anderson has been named by Gov. Mike Dunleavy as the new commissioner of the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, replacing John MacKinnon, on Sept. 3, 2021. (Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities photo)

Gov. Mike Dunleavy appointed Ryan Anderson as the new commissioner of the state Department of Transportation and Public Facilities. He replaces John MacKinnon, Dunleavy’s office announced on Friday.

Anderson has worked for the department for 20 years. His most recent position was director for the Northern Region, overseeing design, construction, maintenance and operations for an area that extends from the Gulf of Alaska to the Arctic Ocean. He lives in Fairbanks. 

The governor’s office did not provide the reason for MacKinnon’s departure, saying it doesn’t comment on personnel issues.

MacKinnon had been in the job since the start of the Dunleavy administration in 2018. 

[Sign up for Alaska Public Media’s daily newsletter to get our top stories delivered to your inbox.]

Andrew Kitchenman is the state government and politics reporter for Alaska Public Media and KTOO in Juneau. Reach him at

Previous articleAnchorage police identify officer involved in accidental shooting
Next articleAlaska’s COVID hospitalizations still climbing, 1 in 5 patients now fighting virus