Iditapod: A familiar champ for a unique Iditarod

A dog musher and sled dogs race into a snowy finish line.
Dallas Seavey’s team runs into the chute at the finish line. Dallas Seavey arrives in Willow to win the 2021 Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race on March 15, 2021. (Marc Lester / ADN)

Dallas Seavey has won the 2021 Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race, tying Rick Swenson’s five first-place finishes for the most ever. Will he be back next year to vie for a sixth? That is the question… Also, a sleepless but not tired, Alaska Public Media reporter Tegan Hanlon fills us in on the scene at the finish, including interviews with Seavey and Aaron Burmeister, who took second.

Casey Grove is the host of Alaska News Nightly and a general assignment reporter at Alaska Public Media with an emphasis on crime and courts.

Previous articleStudy: Temperature changes on volcano sides could predict eruptions years in advance
Next articleAlaska GOP censures Murkowski for defying Trump and vows to work for her defeat