Dallas Seavey Becomes Youngest Iditarod Winner

Photo by Patrick Yack, APRN - Anchorage: Dallas Seavey

Dallas Seavey has won the Iditarod.

At 25, Seavey is the youngest person ever to win the race. It was a contest between him, Aliy Zirkle and Ramey Smyth that hung on how well they tuned their dog teams. And Seavey says his strategy of holding back to build his team’s reserves paid off.  He could then let them come to full strength at the last part of the race.

“Building a monster, a dog team that could not be stopped,” Seavey said.

Aaron Burmeister was fourth in, then Peter Kaiser, Ray Redington Junior, Mitch Seavey, Mike Williams Junior, John Baker, and Dee Dee Jonrowe. Rookie of the year will be Brent Sass.

Download Audio

After being told innumerable times that maybe she asked too many questions, Anne Hillman decided to pursue a career in journalism. She's reported from around Alaska since 2007 and briefly worked as a community radio journalism trainer in rural South Sudan.
ahillman (at) alaskapublic (dot) org | 907.550.8447  |  About Anne

Previous article(Snow) Heaven
Next articlePilot, Passenger Survive Floatplane Crash On Prince Of Wales Island