5 questions with Anchorage Assembly candidates

The Anchorage municipal election is April 5. It will be conducted by mail, and ballots have already been sent out. (More on how to vote here.) 

Among what voters will weigh in on: filling five seats on the 11-member Anchorage Assembly. Assembly members are chosen by voters in their district and elected to 3-year terms. 

To help sift through the candidates, the Anchorage Daily News sent them a list of survey questions. Here’s the Anchorage Assembly candidates’ answers to five of those questions, and for more visit adn.com.

The questions:

1. What is the most important problem facing Anchorage? How would you address it?

2. Rate Dave Bronson’s performance as mayor. Explain, with specific examples.

3. The past two years have been marked by increased civic discord in Anchorage. How would you improve the quality of civic discourse in the city?

4. What’s your vision for improving and diversifying Anchorage’s economy?

5. What do you see as the most effective strategies to address homelessness in Anchorage going forward?

Click on each candidates photo to see how they answered. 

District 2 – Seat A – Eagle River/Chugiak

Kevin Cross

Vanessa Stephens

Gretchen Wehmhoff

District 3 – Seat D – West Anchorage

Kameron Perez-Verdia

Liz Vazquez

Liz Vazquez is a 2022 candidate for Anchorage Assembly. (Photo provided by Liz Vazquez)

Nial Sherwood Williams

District 4 – Seat F – Midtown

Kathy Henslee

Meg Zaletel

District 5 – Seat H – East Anchorage

Forrest Dunbar

Christopher Hall

Stephanie Taylor

District 6 – Seat J – South Anchorage

Darin Colbry

Randy Sulte

John Weddleton