Bill To Eliminate Time Change Stalls In House Committee

A bill to move Alaska off of daylight saving time likely won’t get a vote in the House this session.

Download Audio

Rep. Bob Lynn, chair of the House State Affairs Committee, appointed a subcommittee to work on the bill after taking public testimony on Thursday during which business representatives opposed the change.

Sen. Anna MacKinnon proposed the bill to stop Alaskans from changing their clocks twice each year beginning in 2017 and to request a federal review of Alaska’s time zones. Most of the state is on Alaska standard time, although a few Southeast communities are on Pacific time and part of the Aleutian Islands are on Hawaii time.

The bill passed the Senate.

Copyright 2013 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Previous articleJuneau Schools Replace Controversial Texts With Book By First Nations Writer
Next articleSome Alaska Ferry Trips On The Chopping Block