Alaska Edition: August 22, 2014

The election returns are in. Alaskans say no to the oil-tax referendum but the outcome was in doubt for a while. Dan Sullivan wins the GOP Senate nomination – with Mead Treadwell finishing a distant third. What is Mead’s future? And what of second-place finisher Joe Miller? Sean Parnell, Bill Walker, and Byron Mallott square off for governor – amidst calls for Walker and Mallott to join forces. Two GOP House incumbents lose primaries. Don Young is renominated once again. The Municipality of Anchorage has yet another plan for the troubled port.

Listen now:

HOST: Michael Carey


  • Nathaniel Herz Alaska  Dispatch/ADN
  • Paul Jenkins Anchorage Daily Planet
  • Steve McDonald KTUU

KSKA (FM 91.1) BROADCAST: Friday August 22 at 2:00 p.m. and Saturday, August 23 at 6:00 p.m.

Alaska Public Television BROADCAST: Friday, August 22 at 7:30 p.m. and Saturday August 23  at 4:30 PM.

Previous articleWalker Wins Primary … For Libertarian Senate Nomination
Next articleA Partnership of Language and Love: Reflecting on The Life of Dick Dauenhauer