No Primary, Only General Election Contest For Juneau Legislators

Sam Kito lll (left), Sen. Dennis Egan (middle), and Rep. Cathy Munoz (right). (Photos by Skip Gray)
Sam Kito lll (left), Sen. Dennis Egan (middle), and Rep. Cathy Munoz (right). (Photos by Skip Gray)

All three Juneau legislators will be challenged in the November general election, but not in the August primary.

The candidate filing deadline was 5 p.m. Monday.

George McGuan, 33, filed as a Democrat to run against Republican Rep. Cathy Munoz for House District 34 in November. Munoz currently represents House District 31, which encompasses the Mendenhall Valley and out the road. With redistricting, the number has changed, but not the geography.

Peter Dukowitz, 44, plans to run in November as a Republican against Democrat Sam Kito III for House District 33 (now HD 32). Kito was appointed in February to fill out the term of Beth Kerttula, who resigned her seat in January to take a fellowship at Stanford University. Kito’s new House district will include Juneau, Haines, Skagway and Gustavus.

Juneau Sen. Dennis Egan, a Democrat, will be challenged by Republican Tom Williams. Egan’s Senate District P will change to district Q in November, also encompassing Haines, Skagway, Gustavus and Juneau.

The primary is August 19. With no primary contest, the candidates can concentrate on the general election campaign.

Rosemarie Alexander is a reporter at KTOO in Juneau.

Previous articleLow-Level Eruption Of Pavlof Volcano Escalating
Next articleBethel City Council Investigation Sent to District Attorney’s Office