New AFN Co-Chairs Elected

The annual Alaska Federation of Natives convention wrapped up Saturday in Fairbanks. AFN board co-chairs were elected in the morning.

Ana Hoffman garnered the most votes. Hoffman is the President and CEO of the Bethel Native Corporation. She will serve with Arctic Slope Regional Corporation External Affairs Vice President Tara Sweeney.

In thanking the AFN delegates for their votes, Hoffman noted the significance of the election results.

“I look forward to serving as co-chair with Tara Sweeney,” Hoffman said. “A fellow ANCSA afterborn and the first time AFN has two women co-chairs.”

Sweeney will serve a one-year term and Hoffman will serve for two years.

Resolutions dealing with a wide range of issues from health and safety to land rights and subsistence protection took up the afternoon.

Special recognition resolutions honoring Katie John and Native actor Ray Mala were also passed.


Lori Townsend is the news director and senior host for Alaska Public Media. You can send her program ideas for Talk of Alaska and Alaska Insight at or call 907-350-2058.

Previous articleAFN Attendees Rally For ‘Fairbanks 4’
Next articleAlaska News Nightly: October 28, 2013