Incumbent Rowland Leads Write-Ins For Unalaska City Council

Unalaska mayor Shirley Marquardt ran unopposed and secured a fourth term in office.

That was the first time in over 20 years that a mayoral election has been uncontested in Unalaska.

Dave Gregory and Alejandro “Bong” Tungul were also elected to city council without any opposition.

But the race for one city council seat is still too close to call. Incumbent Roger Rowland is currently holding onto his seat by just 25 votes. Behind him: The write-in category.

A handful of contested and absentee ballots will be counted on Friday by Unalaska’s canvass committee, which could sway Rowland’s race.

Three seats on Unalaska’s school board were up for election. Fernando Barrera beat out Denise Rankin by 57 votes, while Tammy Fowler Pound and Abner Hoage won their uncontested races for school board.

Previous articleAusterman, Peterson Join Kodiak Assembly as Voters Approve Proposition One
Next articleHaines Voters Opt To Change Boroughs Charter Preamble, Bill of Rights