Brent Sass Takes Iditarod Rookie Of The Year Honors

Photo by Patrick Yack, APRN - Anchorage: Brent Sass

Fourteen teams have made it in to Nome. The latest musher’s to cross the finish line include Deedee Jonrowe, Ken Anderson and Sonny Linder. They arrived more than half a day after 25-year-old Dallas Seavey became the youngest musher to win the Iditarod.

This year’s Iditarod Rookie of the Year is Brent Sass. The 32-year-old finished in 13th place after 9 days, 21 hours, and 28 minutes on the trail. He finished 5th in this year’s Yukon Quest. At the finish line, his dogs looked fuzzy, fit, and at a healthy weight.

The team was a bit distracted on the way in by another small dog on the sidelines. They pulled him to the edge of the shoot and had to be re-directed. Sass said his team made a strong, fast pull at the end.

Sass says his first Iditarod will not be his last.  There are still nearly 40 teams out on the trail, including Dallas Seavey’s grandfather, Dan, who’s in Unalakleet.

Listen for the full story

Download Audio

Anne Hillman is the healthy communities editor at Alaska Public Media and a host of Hometown, Alaska. Reach her at Read more about Anne here.

Previous articlePrince William Sound Residents Get Help In Financial Recovery From Storm
Next articleActivists Organize To Protect Local Watersheds